Archive for November 13, 2013

Do You Remember?

Posted: November 13, 2013 in catalogue

(This one is also an old poem which I came across while clearing my Gmail today :))

Image

Do you remember?

The day you came to my room as you always do,

Me still sleeping under the sky so blue.

You woke me up and pushed me to loo,

The clock struck six and sang the wall cuckoo.

 

We looked like twins upon wearing the uniform,

Sat on the table for the breakfast by my mom.

The horn blowing school bus stood on the road,

Took mom’s blessings and we stepped aboard.

 

Do you remember?

The friends we share and the pranks we dare,

Also the teachers who take a lot of care.

The movies we watched for the classes we bunk,

Without any reason of fearing to flunk.

 

The tiffins that we snatch and the food that we steal,

Begging for games period with enthusiasm and zeal.

The cheating that we did in the exams so far,

Results would announce that we were always at par.

 

Do you remember?

Our tired dull faces relieved by your mom’s sweet smile,

The lunch that she cooks having rotis pile on pile.

The garden where we plant trees and enjoy the shade,

Playing games with our siblings and together we wade.

 

The way we dance to the tunes in T.V,

Your dad comes in with bagful of toffees.

Gave birth by two and brought up by four,

Flooded with memories sweet and sour.

 

Do you remember?

Walking hand in hand for attending tuitions,

You crossing the road for chocolates and failing of all our intuitions.

All I could hear is the screeching of a bus,

And feel my body’s sudden adrenalin rush.

 

There lie on the road your body so still,

The blood all over it gave my spine a chill.

I went motionless when I saw your eyes,

Trying to tell me a final goodbye.

 

You are like my sister and also best friend,

I could never imagine so soon your life will end.

You left me alone with memories so strong,

My love and friendship are something to you which they belong.

 

It was not easy to witness your departure from so near,

But I am still living with the pain of losing someone so dear.

Though you are dead for the world but will always stay alive at my heart,

I know your soul resides around me which will never part.

 

My God will not betray me,

The world will one day surely see,

My true belief that you are here,

And all the memories that I ponder.

 

But oh my dear childhood friend,

Do you remember???