Adieu to 2015!!!

Posted: January 10, 2016 in catalogue

2015 did not start with a good note. Heartbreak, fire in my house, tears, anger, anxiety and God knows what other emotions crept into my mind.  Amidst all these, one mail came my way which changed so much about the rest of the year-the mail which read that I was officially a part of the 2015 fellowship of Teach For India. The few things that popped in my head were school, kids, books and Pune. Immediately I typed my resignation letter and embarked on this new journey much different from what I was doing earlier. The training institution was an experience in itself with so many other fellows around from diverse backgrounds and different parts of the world. Every corner of the institute had a different story to share. Then I got placed in a government school of Pune with 60 super energetic kids eagerly waiting to welcome me with their little pranks. Every day some new overwhelming stories would make their way into my life-so inspiring and enriching that it made me stronger day by day.

So the story that inspired me most last year is about a man who hails from Ahmedabad. A kind-hearted, warm and determined person by nature. Although he was bound for lifetime to his wheelchair but it never took away his courage and dedication towards the work he was doing. It so happened on one sunny bright afternoon that he crossed paths with another gentleman from the same locality who was also sharing similar hardships in life. They exchanged smiles without knowing that they will get connected later in their cause to uplift the society that they come from. One day the news broke down to him that the smiling stranger was no more as he met with an accident while at work. This person was hit most when he came to know about the work that the stranger used to do every day. The stranger used to deliver food packets to homeless women in the locality as he was really moved by their pain. Knowing this, the person contemplated and decided to carry forward his stranger friend’s work. He goes every day, prepares food packets twice a day and delivers it himself to the women. Even though sometimes these women starts abusing him for being little late but nothing compares with the immense satisfaction and pleasure that he receives in their smiles. The wait in these women’s eyes and the hunger to see this angel every day of their lives proves how much they respected this nobleman’s effort. The fact that he himself is somehow managing to make his ends meet has never bogged down his intention of feeding the desolate souls. This story simply tells it’s not your physical or financial ability but the intent that makes you determined to wake up every day and spread joy.

The fellowship offers you innumerable such stories which leaves marks in your mind and heart. I am really happy and proud that I have been able to witness some of these stories of great human beings through closer lenses.

Comments
  1. Vinay Leo R. says:

    One of my friends too is a Teach for India fellow. And seeing the snaps he shares is a joy. 🙂 Glad to hear such positive stories that share smiles…

Leave a comment